Why I'll Never Take A Normal Cab Again

Today I took a Taxi to the Airport, and now I know why ridesharing apps must and will win. (I can't drive--otherwise, I would've used FlightCar.)

The Taxi Cab Process:

  1. Wait at street corner waving at taxis as they buzz by. Hope that one is free and you can get a ride with them.
  2. Driver (I'll call him Joe) barely speaks English, I struggle to communicate with him.
  3. Joe's car is filthy.
  4. Joe decides to take his own convoluted route to the airport, not a standard one. I eat the cost.
  5. Joe claims some sort of toll that isn't on the meter. Can I believe him?
  6. Joe apparently doesn't take card. He forces me to walk to the ATM with him to withdraw cash, all the while I'm running late for my flight.
  7. Joe doesn't have change. I have to run around the airport with him to get change.
  8. This was a shitty experience. I can't rate Joe. There's no accountability. Many others will suffer the same fate I did and there's nothing to stop this.
  9. The worst part is that Joe expects a tip after this set of shenanigans, and I don't have the time to argue with him as to why he doesn't deserve one. 

The Uber Process:

  1. I open my app and press pickup.
  2. Driver (I'll call him Malcolm) arrives--I'm notified where he is and how long it will take him. There's not much chance in play here.
  3. Malcolm speaks English well, his car is maintained. If this weren't the case, he'd be fired as his rating wouldn't be >= 4.7 stars.
  4. Malcolm gets me to the airport via an appropriate route, and I can trust Uber to refund me if that's not the case. 
  5. I'm dropped off curbside (in style), the tips included, my card is charged automatically, and I can't catch my flight without the hassles of figuring out how to pay Malcolm in cash. I can even request a fare quote before traveling.

Technology-enabled disruption of industries is awesome.

Follow me on twitter. Upvote on Hacker News.

Thanks to Ishaan and Delian for looking at drafts of this post.